skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [12 August 1847]1

Down Farnborough Kent


My dear Hooker

I guessed the reason of my not hearing from you & each morning I was heartily glad of it, for I could not have borne not to have come & yet my stomach has been for the last week so wretchedly bad that it would have been folly in me to have attempted to have gone anywhere.— I am glad to hear that you are going your excursion into Scotland.—

I will come to you at Kew (for one night) about midday on the 20th & return next day; & that will leave me a chance for 23d & 24th, if I chance to be unwell on the 20th. If, however, earlier would be in the least more convenient to you, I would come then. I rather want to be at home on the 17th, but cd come any day after that.—

The foreigner has not appeared, deuce take him, I hope he won’t prevent my Kew visit.—2

Shall you have any chance to introduce me to H. Watson?—

I hope you will enjoy yourself in Scotland as no doubt you are now.— Pray remember me most kindly to Prof. Henslow & to Miss Henslow; I suppose Mrs. H. has not returned.

I am baddish, so good bye. Ever yours | C. Darwin

Pray remember me very much to Miss Hooker when you see her.—


The conjectured date is based on the assumption that CD’s proposed visit to Kew on 10 August (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [4 August 1847]) did not take place because Hooker accompanied John Stevens Henslow and his family to Scotland.
Bernhard Studer visited Down, probably on 16 August (see next letter).


Planning a visit to Kew. Wishes to meet H. C. Watson.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 104
Physical description
4pp & C

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1106,” accessed on 7 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4