skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [4 August 1847]

Down Farnborough Kent


My dear Hooker

I shall be delighted to come on or about the 10th as I may hear to meet Henslow, if I possibly can. The cause of doubt consists in my having asked Prof. Studer of Berne to come here in the early part of the month & I do not exactly know when that will be.— I must go over the remainder of my species sketch with you then.— I did not go to Cambridge.—1

I am extremely glad to hear so good an account of your sister: the Scotch scheme, must be an unusually tempting one; be idle & enjoy yourself & go, is my advice

Ever yours | in Haste | C. Darwin

It is real good news that you are at work on geograph. distrib of V. Diemen’s land.—2


See letter to J. D. Hooker, 28 July [1847], for CD’s intention to vote in the Cambridge University parliamentary elections.
Hooker was compiling a ‘Florae Tasmaniæ Spicilegium’ for the London Journal of Botany, published in three parts in the latter half of 1847 (J. D. Hooker 1847).


Hooker, Joseph Dalton. 1847. Floræ Tasmaniæ Spicilegium; or contributions towards a flora of Van Diemen’s Land. London Journal of Botany 6: 106–25, 265–86, 461–79.


Wants to go over remainder of species sketch when he sees JDH.

Urges JDH to go to Scotland.

Pleased JDH works on geographical distribution of Van Diemen’s Land flora.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 100
Physical description
3pp & C

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1105,” accessed on 1 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 4