skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

Search Results

Darwin Correspondence Project
"Darwin C R" in search-correspondent disabled_by_default
1839::01 in date disabled_by_default
23 Items
Sorted by:  
Page: 1 2  Next

To ?   [1839–82]


Is glad addressee’s lectures are going well.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Unidentified
Date:  1839–82
Classmark:  Raptis Rare Books (dealers) (June 2018 #69022)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-13925F

To Richard Owen   [1839 – April 1840]


Delighted by RO’s discussion in this sheet. RO should return revises to printer and get remaining ones.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Richard Owen
Date:  [1839 – Apr 1840]
Classmark:  Charles Hamilton (dealer) (13 June 1974)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-397

To Woodbine Parish   [January 1839?]


Likes WP’s book [Buenos Ayres and the province of La Plata (1838)]. Thinks it will interest all "who care for graver things than what the traveller eats and says to the Señoritas".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Woodbine Parish
Date:  [Jan 1839?]
Classmark:  Shuttleworth 1910, p. 412 n.
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-398

From G. R. Waterhouse   [1839 – 10 February 1840]



Sends John Blackwall’s book [Researches in zoology (1834)]. Discusses his reasons for doubting that there are any marsupials in Java or Sumatra.

Author:  George Robert Waterhouse
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [1839 – 10 Feb 1840]
Classmark:  DAR 205.3: 295
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-475

To Charles Babbage   [1839 – August 1842]


Is so unwell today that he is unable to come [to CB’s party].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Babbage
Date:  [1839 – Aug 1842]
Classmark:  The British Library (Add 37191: 297)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-476

To John Maurice Herbert   [January 1839 – September 1842]


Suggests the names of two bird-preservers for JMH’s friend.

In reference to an earlier letter, replies: "As for Birds of Paradise from the West Indies, tell that to the marines, as we used to say on board the Beagle".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  John Maurice Herbert
Date:  [Jan 1839 – Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Bonhams, New York (dealers) (11 December 2013)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-476A

To Charles Stokes   [1839 – September 1842]


Sends observations he made on Fungia during Beagle voyage. Asks CS to make corrections in style or names of parts as he sees fit.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Stokes
Date:  [1839 – Sept 1842]
Classmark:  Wellcome Collection
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-478

To Charles Lyell   [c. 9 January 1839]


Discusses his Glen Roy paper [(1839), Collected papers 1: 87–137], which he is sending to CL.

Remarks on Charles MacLaren’s treatment of alluvium. Comments on alluvial action in Lochaber.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Lyell, 1st baronet
Date:  [c. 9 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.15)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-480

To William Whewell   4 [January 1839]


Informs him of J. B. Jukes’s plans concerning the Newfoundland survey post.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William Whewell
Date:  4 [Jan 1839]
Classmark:  Trinity College, Cambridge (Add c 88: 5)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-483

From J. M. Herbert   13 January [1839]


Sends congratulations on CD’s engagement, with a gift.

Author:  John Maurice Herbert
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  13 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 168
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-487

To W. J. Broderip   19 January [1839]


Hopes Richard Owen will have time to do CD’s shells in spirits.

Doubts WJB’s suggestion that moles may play a part in formation of mould.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  William John Broderip
Date:  19 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  Houghton Library, Harvard University (Autograph File, D)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-488

To Edwin C. Prince   21 January [1839]


Asks what generic and subgeneric name John Gould has given to the goatsuckers of the U. S. [for Birds].

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Edwin C. Prince
Date:  21 Jan [1839]
Classmark:  Archives of the New York Botanical Garden (Charles Finney Cox Collection)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-491

From Thomas Evans Blackwell   26 January 1839


A newly-elected Fellow returns the obligation to be signed upon entering the Geological Society.

Author:  Thomas Evans Blackwell
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  26 Jan 1839
Classmark:  Geological Society of London (GSL/L/R/4/121)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-494

To J. Shillinglaw, Secretary, Royal Geographical Society   [1839 – May 1842]


Asks for volumes of F. W. Beechey’s work [Narrative of a voyage to the Pacific and Bering Strait (1831)] and Nautical magazine and an order on [John] Arrowsmith for atlas of Dumont d’Urville’s Voyage in the "Astrolabe".

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  J. Shillinglaw; Royal Geographical Society
Date:  [1839 – May 1842]
Classmark:  Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge (GEN/D/DARWIN (C)/4)
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-477

To Emma Wedgwood   2 [–3 January 1839]



His dinner with the Carlyles. "He is the best worth listening to of any man" – but CD cannot get up much admiration for Mrs C, partly because of her Scots accent, which makes her difficult to understand.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  2 [–3 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 10
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-481

From Emma Wedgwood   [3 January 1839]


Emma is surprised how quickly CD has moved into the new house and understands his feeling of triumph. Wants him and Fanny [Mrs Hensleigh] Wedgwood to settle on hiring a cook.

Is reading Mansfield Park [Jane Austen (1814)], which she finds "very suitable".

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [3 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 158
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-482

To Emma Wedgwood   [6–7 January 1839]



Has been with the Lyells doing geology.

Is reading a biography of Sir W. Scott [J. G. Lockhart, Memoirs of the life of Sir Walter Scott (1837–8)]; also Mungo Park’s book [Travels (1799)].

Has hired a cook at fourteen guineas a year with tea and sugar.

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [6-7 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 11
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-484

From Emma Wedgwood   [7 January 1839]


Still rejoices in having found the house they like.

Thinks he might enjoy Jenny [Jane Welsh] Carlyle’s company more away from Carlyle "as she must have her full swing in talking".

Says the wedding must be fixed for the 29th instead of the 24th.

Hopes he will look better than on his last visit.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [7 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 159
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-485

From Emma Wedgwood   [9 January 1839]


Glad to have his letter; supposes she will receive only two or three more from him in her life.

Thinks he should leave the curtains for her.

Discusses Mungo Park and Sir Walter Scott’s Life.

Author:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Addressee:  Charles Robert Darwin
Date:  [9 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 204: 160
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-486

To Emma Wedgwood   [20 January 1839]



Comments on recent visit to Maer. Explains that his notion of happiness as quietness and solitude derives from Beagle experience. Hopes Emma will humanise him. Comments on marriage planned for Tuesday.

Describes recent visit by Lyell and his wife. Talked geology for half an hour "with poor Mrs Lyell sitting by". "I want practice in ill-treating the female sex."

Author:  Charles Robert Darwin
Addressee:  Emma Wedgwood; Emma Darwin
Date:  [20 Jan 1839]
Classmark:  DAR 210.8: 12
Letter no:  DCP-LETT-489
Page: 1 2  Next