skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   3 March [1861]1

Down Bromley Kent

March 3d.

My dear Sir

Many thanks for your satisfactory answers to all my queries.—2 I hope to give no more trouble for a long spell.— I am making some progress, though slow with my Volume “on Variation under Domestication”. But my object is to ask you to alter the address of Andrew Murray (in the list of my presentation copies) to “Royal Hort. Soc. S. Kensington”.3

My dear Sir | Yours sincerely | C. Darwin


Dated by the relationship to the letter from Andrew Murray, 3 March 1861.
See letter to John Murray, 24 February [1861]. Murray’s response has not been found.
See letter from Andrew Murray, 3 March 1861. CD’s list of presentation copies for the third edition of Origin is in DAR 210.18. For a transcription, see Correspondence vol. 9, Appendix VII.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Making slow progress with Variation.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 f. 101)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3078,” accessed on 23 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9