skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. S. Henslow   [20–7] September 1833

Buenos Ayres

September 1833

My dear Henslow

A Spanish friend in Entre Rios has promised to send me a cargo of Bones; if they do arrive here: Mr Lumb has kindly offered to forward them to you.— I leave this as a direction to him, & he will add the name of Ship, date, port &c or whatever is necessary.—

Believe me Yours most truly obliged | Charles Darwin

The Rev:d Professor Henslow

Cambridge University


Specimens of Natural History1


CD left this letter with Edward Lumb to be forwarded with the cargo of bones to which it refers. The letter was not despatched until 2 May 1834, when Lumb wrote to Henslow telling him that a case of specimens with part of the head of a ‘Megatherium’ was being forwarded to him. That shipment, however, was not the one referred to in this letter, but another, containing a specimen found later in 1833. From Lumb’s letter of 8 May 1834, it appears that the ‘Spanish friend’ is ‘Mr Hooker’. The cargo of bones has not been traced, though Lumb expected it to arrive soon after 2 May 1834.


Informs JSH that a Spanish friend has offered him a cargo of bones. If they arrive, he has arranged with Edward Lumb to forward them to JSH. [Forwarded to JSH with 244.]

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Stevens Henslow
Sent from
Buenos Ayres
Source of text
Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (Henslow letters: 19 DAR/1/1/19)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 216,” accessed on 31 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1