skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Lawson Tait   25 March 1875

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

March 25th

Dear Sir

I am much obliged by your kind note.1 I should be very glad to make your personal acquaintance & no introduction was in the least necessary. I fear however that we cannot meet just at present. I have long been much out of health, & lately I have been working very hard & am quite knocked up; at the best of times I cannot converse with any one for more than half an hour or so; & at present I should be incapable even of this much exertion. Therefore I beg you to propose some future Sunday. But I am going on the 31st or 1st for a week to my brother’s house 6 Queen Anne St Cavendish Square, for complete rest,2 & expect that two or three days will set me up. Down is rather an awkward place to reach, & if it would suit you better to come to London on the 4th or on one of the few succeeding days, I should have great pleasure in seeing you. I would suggest your coming to luncheon, & then we could have some talk afterwards   But in this case please to inform me that I may keep myself fresh

My dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

Tait’s letter has not been found but was probably a reply to the letter to Lawson Tait, 20 March [1875].
CD stayed at the home of Erasmus Alvey Darwin from 31 March to 6 April 1875, and then at the home of Henrietta Litchfield; he returned to Down on 12 April 1875 (Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR242)).

Summary

Would be glad to make RLT’s acquaintance, but CD’s health would make RLT’s visit to Down unprofitable. Suggests a meeting in London at end of month.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-9902
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
Robert Lawson (Lawson) Tait
Sent from
Down
Source of text
John Wilson (dealer) catalogue 62 (July 1989)
Physical description
3pp (Photocopy)

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9902,” accessed on 21 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-9902.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 23

letter