skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From A. R. Wallace   6 December 1874

The Dell, Grays, Essex

Decr. 6th. 1874

Dear Darwin

Many thanks for your kindness in sending me a copy of your new Edition of the “Descent”.1 I see you have made a whole host of additions & corrections which I shall have great pleasure in reading over as soon as I have got rid of my horrid book on Geog. Distn.2 which is almost driving me mad with the amount of drudgery required and the often unsatisfactory nature of the result. However I must finish with it soon, or all the parts first done will have to be done over again, every new book either as a monograph, or a classification putting everything wrong (for me.)

Hoping you are in good health & able to go on with your favourite work | I remain | Yours very sincerely | Alfred R. Wallace

Charles Darwin Esq.


Wallace’s name appears on CD’s presentation list for the second edition of Descent (see Appendix IV).
In his Geographical distribution of animals (Wallace 1876, p. vi) Wallace said he had been working on the book since about 1870 (see ibid., p. vi).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Thanks for new edition of Descent.

His work on geographical distribution; drudgery and the often unsatisfactory nature of the result.

Letter details

Letter no.
Alfred Russel Wallace
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 106: B120
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9744,” accessed on 22 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22