skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [17 November 1874]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. | Railway Station | Orpington. S.E.R.

Tuesday morning

My dear Friend

I am extremely glad that you will come here.2 It is very wise of you to exert yourself & face the inevitable as well as you can. Your proposal has deeply gratified me, for I was thinking how & when I could in any way see you.3 My poor dear friend I shall be glad when Wednesday is over.—4

Yours affectionately | Charles Darwin


The date is established by the reference to a visit by Hooker and his daughter Harriet Anne Hooker to Down (see n. 2, below), and by the allusion to Frances Harriet Hooker’s funeral. The notepaper is the sort that CD started to use in November 1874.
According to Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242), J. D. and Harriet Hooker visited from 19 to 23 November 1874.
Hooker’s wife, Frances Harriet Hooker, had died suddenly on 13 November. Emma Darwin wrote of Hooker’s proposal to visit Down, ‘it pleased us very much as showing so much friendship for us’ (letter from Emma Darwin to Leonard Darwin, 25 November [1874] (DAR 239.23: 1.25)).
Wednesday 18 November 1874 was the date of Frances Hooker’s funeral at St Anne’s church, Kew (Surrey, England, burials, 1813–1987,, accessed 6 August 2013).


Extremely glad to have JDH come to Down. It is wise of JDH to exert himself and face the inevitable as well as he can. [Death of JDH’s wife, 13 Nov.]

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 95: 342
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9728,” accessed on 2 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22