skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From D. F. Nevill   22 [September 1874]1

Dangstein. Petersfield

My dear Sir

I was so pleased to receive your most interesting letter and its contents2   I am only too delighted to contribute in any way to your studies   The Gardener has just brought to me 2 Utricularias we have—3 One is our specimen plant just coming into blossom and the other is one smaller than the one sent to you and he fears too small to be of any use to you at present so had we not better keep it for a time till it has developed its useful parts   Dont scruple to take it as we have 8 more seedlings but I daresay in a month or so it will grow enough for your purpose— We have been placing bits of meat on the Drosera Capense and it is curious to observe how its leaves closes over the meat and when quite consumed how they relax to their ordinary state

ever most truly yours | D Nevill

22

Footnotes

The month and day are established by the relationship between this letter and the letter to D. F. Nevill, 18 September [1874].
CD had described his observations of Utricularia montana and had requested an additional specimen (see letter to D. F. Nevill, 18 September [1874]). Utricularia montana is a synonym of U. alpina.
Nevill’s head gardener was James Vair.

Summary

Will send a different Utricularia species when the seedlings are better established.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-9652
From
Dorothy Fanny Nevill
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Dangstein, Petersfield
Source of text
DAR 172: 22
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9652,” accessed on 20 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-9652.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22

letter