skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Ralfs   [after 25 June 1874]1

I particularly want to know whether seeds of any kind, & whether small leaves of other plants, or portions of leaves, are ever found adhering to the leaves of Pinguicola. Should this occur, please to inform me if possible the name of the seeds & of the leaves, or send me the specimens.

The observations on seeds would perhaps be best made in one or, two months hence.

Ch. Darwin

Down Beckenham Kent. June 82


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from W. T. Thiselton-Dyer, 25 June 1874, in which he suggested Ralfs as a possible observer of Pinguicula (butterwort).
CD drafted this letter by amending a version in Emma Darwin’s hand of a standard letter sent out to several correspondents earlier in June (letter to ?, 8 June 1874), which was itself based on the draft letter to W. C. Marshall, 8 June [1874]. CD expanded the text of the letter to include the reference to leaves adhering to specimens of Pinguicula; previous versions refer only to seeds. Ralfs responded to this point in his letter of 9 July 1874.


Wants particularly to know whether seeds or leaves of other plants are ever found adhering to the leaves of Pinguicula. Observations would perhaps best be made in a month or two.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Ralfs
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 59.1: 88
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9514F,” accessed on 27 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22