skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Edward Frankland   22 April [1874]1

2, Bryanston Street, | Portman Square. W.

Ap. 22

Dear Professor Frankland

I want very much to speak to you for a few minutes about drosera. May I call tomorrow (Thursday) or Friday or any day, and the earlier in the morning the better for me.2 Perhaps at or directly after your breakfast. A few minutes would be sufficient. Will you send me a post card in answer—

yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

As I am rather often apt to be unwell I cannot avoid sometimes breaking engagements.


The year is established by the address and the reference to Drosera (see nn. 2 and 3, below). CD was interested in Drosera (sundew) for his book Insectivorous plants, which was published in 1875; before this, he stayed with his daughter Henrietta Emma Litchfield in Bryanston Street, London, only in April 1874.
CD had been corresponding with Frankland since July 1873 about the acids in the digestive secretions of Drosera (see letter to Edward Frankland, 12 April 1874).


Insectivorous plants. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1875.


Requests permission to call briefly to discuss Drosera.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Edward Frankland
Sent from
London, Bryanston St, 2
Source of text
The John Rylands Library, The University of Manchester
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9424A,” accessed on 16 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 22