skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. S. Wade   23 October 1873

York Street, Wakefield

Octr 23 1873.

Dear Sir

I should have answered your letter of Septr 12 before now, but have deferred doing so until I had an opportunity of seeing the man, & making the enquiries you suggest.—1

In answer to these enquiries I have to say that he tells me that he had the fits between 1 & 2 years of age, & that the children were born with the peculiar condition of the eyelids,— by all means keep the Photographs,2 & if you would like copies I will at any time send you them

Yours faithfully | W. S. Wade

CD annotations

Bottom of letter: ‘Refers to case of inheritance sent before   Drooping Eyelids’ pencil

Footnotes

Wade had written to CD about a man with an eye condition that his children had apparently inherited (see letter from W. S. Wade, 11 September 1873). CD’s letter to Wade has not been found.
CD mentioned the case sent to him by Wade in Variation 2d ed. 2: 452. For the photographs, see the enclosures to the letter from W. S. Wade, 11 September 1873.

Bibliography

Variation 2d ed.: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2d edition. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1875.

Summary

Further details on inheritance of an eyelid abnormality.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-9109
From
William Swift Wade
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Wakefield
Source of text
DAR 181: 2
Physical description
1p †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 9109,” accessed on 27 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-9109.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21

letter