skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To László Dapsy   9 June 1873

Down, | Beckenham, Kent. ) my address [Leith Hill Place, Dorking.]

June 9th 73

Dear Sir

Absence from my home has prevented me answering your letter sooner.—1 I am very glad to hear that your Translation has so far progressed, & shall be much pleased to receive a copy.2 I am very sorry to say that I cannot aid you about an electro-type copy of any engraving of myself.— There is no good engraving in existence.

I could with pleasure send you a good photograph; if on my return home in a few days I hear that you desire to have one.—3

With my thanks & respect | I remain Dear Sir | Yours faithfully | Ch. Darwin


CD refers to Dapsy’s translation of Origin (Dapsy trans. 1873–4). See letter from László Dapsy, 1 June 1873 and n. 2.
An illustration based on a photograph of CD appeared on the frontispiece of Dapsy’s translation of Origin.


Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


Is glad to hear LD’s translation [of Origin (1873–4)] progresses well.

Offers to send a photograph of himself.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Laszlo Dapsy
Sent from
Leith Hill Place
Source of text
DAR 96: 155
Physical description
( L or draft ) S 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8940,” accessed on 29 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 21