skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   20 [June 1845]

Down Bromley Kent

Friday 20th

Dear Sir

I send a line to report progress.— For the two last posts I have received no proof sheets: before they came regularly & I returned them as regularly within 12 hours: there have been so few corrections, that I have not had occasion to see any revise.—

I have got through the most difficult part of the M.S. of the next number & shall have it all ready by 4th 5th or 6th of next month.— Would you kindly inform me, what your intentions are about publishing the three numbers consecutively? Anyhow I hope it will not be inconvenient to you to allow me to go on printing off, at the rate at which I am now at work.— I am anxious to get the job finished & out of my hands I hope & think I have much improved my Journal: you may perhaps be glad to hear, that I could not possibly have condensed my Journal to go into two number’s & wd not have undergone the loss of time for even double the sum you have so kindly given me.—

Believe me dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | C. Darwin

P.S. | Should you object to an advertisement of the ‘Zoology & Geology of the Beagles Voyage (& of course of nothing else), being printed at Mrs Smith & Elder’s expense & inserted at one end of the first number?1 They proposed it to me; they have been liberal in letting me have the full use of any of the woodcuts out of my Geological volumes.—


The advertisement arrived too late to be included in the first number of the three-part issue (see letter to John Murray, [26 June 1845]). However, such an advertisement does appear on p. 520 of the second issue, which is in book form (Freeman 1977, p. 36).


Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.


Writes to report progress on MS of second part [of Journal of researches].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms.42152 ff. 33–34)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 877,” accessed on 28 November 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 3