skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To G. S. Ffinden   21 May [1872]1

May 21

My dear Sir

As you state that your funds fall short, I shall be h. to raise my S. by £10 & here enclose a cheque for £35, but I am not willing to go beyond this amount—2

Permit me to add that Mr Powell misunderstood me in supposing that I intend to subscribe in any case for the building of Vicarage.3 I did so only under the [1 word illeg] [circumstances] which then occurred.—

I sincerely hope that all your exertion & labour which you have taken about the Ch. may be successful & I remain | my dear s | yours —— | C. D.


The year is established by the reference to a payment for the repair of Down Church (see n. 2, below).
No letter from Ffinden on this subject has been found. In his Account books–cash account (Down House MS), CD recorded a cheque payment of £35 on 21 May 1872 for ‘Ffinden Repair of Down Church’. See also letter from J. B. Innes to Emma Darwin, 8 March 1872, and letter to John Lubbock, [after 21 March 1872].
Henry Powell had been vicar of Down until 1871. The lack of a vicarage in Down had been a long-standing problem for the clergy (see Correspondence vol. 16, letter from J. B. Innes, 4 December 1868).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Sends £35 as his subscription towards the building of a vicarage.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Sketchley Ffinden
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 96: 122
Physical description
AdraftS 1p

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8342,” accessed on 17 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20