skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   [9 March 1872 or later]1

9. Devonshire St | Portland Place

My dear Mr Murray

Many thanks for your note. It really makes no difference to me whether you give me a Bill, or a cheque at the time proposed, for the 23 profits, i.e. £315,— Pray do whichever seems best to you. I have been vexed to find that some of my friends & as I hear some booksellers, complain of the type of the new Edit. of the Origin.2

I found no difficulty in reading the proofs, & my eyesight now is not very good; yet the lines now do seem to me not very distinct.— But there is no help for it, so it is no use thinking about it.—

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from John Murray, 9 March 1872.
The sixth edition of Origin was cheaper than the earlier ones. It had a smaller typeface and less spacing between the lines.


Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.


CD is vexed to hear that some of his friends and some booksellers complain of the type of the new [6th] edition of Origin. CD, whose eyesight is not good, had no trouble reading proofs.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Murray
Sent from
London, Devonshire St, 9
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 274–5)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8230,” accessed on 16 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 20