skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   15 [December 1871]1

6. Queen Anne St.


My dear Hooker

We are up here till 21st. when we go home in morning. Now if good fortune shd. bring you to London during these days, do come & lunch here at 1. oclock, & rejoice all our hearts.— If Mrs. Hooker shd. be coming to London with you, I do hope she will come.2 Emma is here.3

Ever yours | C. Darwin

P.S. If you are with Mr Palgrave & he shd. be inclined to come we shd. be delighted to see him.—4


The month and year are established by the address, and by the reference to ‘Mr Palgrave’ (see n. 3, below). CD was at 6 Queen Anne Street, London, from 14 to 22 December 1871 (see ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)).
CD refers to Frances Harriet Hooker.
CD refers to Frances Harriet Hooker.
CD probably refers to Hooker’s cousin William Gifford Palgrave, who was in England on leave from his diplomatic post (Allan 1972, pp. 230–1). Earlier, CD had invited Hooker and Palgrave to visit him at home (see letter to J. D. Hooker, 28 November [1871]).


Allan, Mea. 1972. Palgrave of Arabia. The life of William Gifford Palgrave 1826–88. London: Macmillan.


Will be in London until 21st. Would rejoice if JDH could come to lunch during their stay.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
DAR 94: 213
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 8106,” accessed on 26 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19