skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Murray   27 May [1871]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

May 27th

My dear Mr. Murray

Many thanks for the Bills & I enclose receipt.—2

You must have forgotten what I said in my last note, for I never said I was coming to London.— In this note I begged you to let me hear soon your final decision about a cheap & corrected Edit. of Origin with estimates; as I shd like to begin pretty soon to work & would answer in it many recent objections.—3 In about 3 or 4 weeks, I shall come to good gap in my Expression-book, & would then commence on the work.4

I also hope much to hear from Mr Cooke about the estimates of the processes of printing photographs.—5 I think I have not given much trouble in my former publications, & therefore I hope you will not grudge a little extra trouble on the present occasion.—

Please remember I must have full 6 weeks notice before any new Edit (if one is ever wanted) of the Descent of Man: I suppose the type is now broken up.—6

Yours very sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from John Murray, 26 May [1871].
CD refers to Expression.
CD refers to Robert Francis Cooke. See letter from Joseph Cundall to R. F. Cooke, 19 May 1871.
Three printings of Descent had been made; a fourth was made in December 1871 (Freeman 1977).

Bibliography

Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.

Origin 6th ed.: The origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. 6th edition, with additions and corrections. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1872.

Summary

Asks JM for final decision about a cheap edition of Origin. Would like to begin soon to revise and answer recent objections.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-7772
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
John Murray
Sent from
Down
Source of text
National Library of Scotland (John Murray Archive) (Ms. 42152 ff. 287–8)
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7772,” accessed on 24 October 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-7772.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19

letter