skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To ?   10 May [1871]1

Down, | Beckenham, Kent.

May 10th

Dear Sir

I am very much obliged for the extracts, all of which are new to me, as I live in the country & rarely see a foreign paper.— It is good to see all sorts of criticisms & some of the extracts have amused me.— The three stanzas about the Ascidians &c are charming.2 If not too much trouble I shd be very glad to receive any other notices or reviews.—

I enclose two of the best photographs which have been made of me, so that you may choose which you like best & throw away the other.—3

Dear Sir | yours faithfully & obliged | Ch. Darwin


The year is established by the printed letterhead, with the address on the right; this is a form that CD used between May 1871 and January 1872.
The extracts have not been found. There is a large collection of newspaper clippings on Descent in the Darwin Archive–CUL (DAR 226.2).
CD may have enclosed photographs taken in 1869 by Elliot & Fry (see letter to C. L. Balch, 15 April 1871 and n. 3). CD had recently sat for Oscar Gustaf Rejlander (see letter to Elliott & Fry, 23 April [1871]); however, CD’s accounts suggest that he did not order any of these photographs until 22 August 1871 (CD’s Classed account books (Down House MS)).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Thanks correspondent for item of criticism in a foreign newspaper.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.396)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7747,” accessed on 4 August 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19