skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Louisa Albano1   22 April 1871


22 April 1871

Honourable Sir

I hasten to reply to the letter you have honoured me with in order to beg to be acquainted what terms you intend to make to the persons applying for the permission to translate your last book on the Descent of man.2 If you have not yet come to an agreement with the gentlemen you speak me of, you would oblige me very much by letting me know your conditions which I hope to be able to accept making perhaps better terms than any other translator.3 Allow me to repeat that I shall be favoured in my undertaking with the valuable aid and advice of Dr. Trinchese, professor of zoology and compared anathomy in the Royal University of Genoa, one of the most eminent living italian naturalists and whose name I am certain will be you a pledge that my translation of your work will not be quite unworthy of the great name of his illustrious author.4

I have the honour to present my respects and to beg respectfully for a prompt answer

Louisa Albano | Piazza Santa Brigida no. 8 | Genoa


Louisa Albano has not been identified.
No letter from CD to Albano has been found.
CD was already in correspondence with Ermanno Loescher about an Italian translation of Descent (see letter from John Murray, 12 April [1871], and letter to John Murray, 13 April [1871]).
Albano refers to Salvatore Trinchese. The Italian translation of Descent was made by Michele Lessona (Lessona trans. 1871).


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.


Replies to CD’s letter;

inquires about CD’s intended terms for Italian translator of Descent; hopes to offer best terms herself.

Letter details

Letter no.
Louisa Albano
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 159: 32
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7704,” accessed on 21 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19