skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From James Crichton-Browne   29 March 1871

West Riding Asylum, | Wakefield.

29th. March 1871.

My dear Sir

I send you a scrap of information on one of the subjects which is now interesting you.1 I shall positively write tomorrow and hope to be able then able to enclose a couple of photographs.2

Everything that I have sent, (notes, photographs &c) is unreservedly at your disposal3

With profound respect | Yours most faithfully | J. Crichton Browne

Charles Darwin Esq | &c &c


The enclosure has not been identified but may have been the letter from James Crichton-Browne, [29–31 March 1871]. CD had asked for information on the effects of attention on capillary circulation (see letter to James Crichton-Browne, 28 March [1871]), and the reaction of the pupils in extreme anger or fear (see letters to James Crichton-Browne, 20 February [1871], and 26 March [1871]).
See letter to James Crichton-Browne, 26 March [1871] and n. 4. The next extant letter from Crichton-Browne that mentions the enclosure of photographs is that of 3 April 1871.


Sends scraps of information. Everything he has sent is unreservedly at CD’s disposal.

Letter details

Letter no.
James Crichton-Browne
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
West Riding Asylum, Wakefield
Source of text
DAR 161: 314
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7643,” accessed on 6 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19