skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From John Murray   23 February [1871]1

50, Albemarle St. | W.

Feby 23

Dear Mr Darwin

The Printers & other accounts connected with the production of your Book on the Descent of Man, having been received by me—including a heavy item of £126. for corrections, I am enabled to make you an offer   For the Edition of 2500—copies I am prepared to give you Six Hundred Guineas being—as far as I can calculate 23ds. of the clear produce.2

If this satisfies you, I will have the pleasure of sending you at once a Cheque for that amount

I am not without hope of a call from you3

I am My Dear Sir | Your faithful servant | John Murray

Chas Darwin Esqr


The year is established by the reference to Descent, which was published on 24 February 1871 (Freeman 1977).
CD recorded a payment from Murray of £630 on 2 March 1871 (CD’s Account books–banking account (Down House MS)).
CD was in London from 23 February to 2 March 1871 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Appendix II)). See also letter to John Murray, 23 February 1871.


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.


Descent publication costs, "including a heavy item of £126 for corrections" have been received. JM can now offer CD 600 guineas for the edition of 2500 copies.

Letter details

Letter no.
John Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Albemarle St, 50
Source of text
DAR 171: 389
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 7507,” accessed on 20 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19