skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. J. Moulinié   20 October 1869


20th October 1869.

Dear sir,

I learn through a German paper that a new work of your’s on Man, I believe, is to be published shortly.1 This is a good news for the scientific public, and if it be correct, may I solicit the high favour of undertaking a french translation of your new contribution to questions which your preceeding works have discussed in such a remarkable manner, and rendered popular in all countries; I consider it a great honour to continue to be “Darwin’s translator”, and will therefore be very thankful to you for the permission to act in consequence.2

Hoping this will find you in a satisfactory state of health, remember me kindly to Mrs. Darwin and your whole family,3 and believe me, dear sir | yours truly | J. J. Moulinié


The reference is to a notice in the 9 October 1869 issue of the Academy (pp. 15–16) that had evidently been reported on in an unidentified German paper. The ‘work’ was Descent and Expression.
Moulinié had translated Variation into French (Moulinié trans. 1868).
According to Emma Darwin’s diary (DAR 242), Moulinié visited CD on 31 August 1868.


Descent: The descent of man, and selection in relation to sex. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1871.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Wishes to translate CD’s forthcoming work on man into French.

Letter details

Letter no.
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 171: 273
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6950,” accessed on 27 July 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17