skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Asa Gray   11 October [1868]1

Herbarium Kew

11, Oct.

Dear Darwin

It is sad to think of, that I should be weeks in England without setting eyes upon you. But the time that Hooker tells me is fixed is most convenient every way for our visit,—and we are as busy and happy as the day is long.2

This is to ask you if you raised this year and have any seeds of Passiflora gracilis that you would send by post to

Rev. R. W. Church3 Whatley, Frome Somersetshire.—

to whom I have just sent your Climbing Plants paper.4

If you have not, please send this on to Mr Wm Thompson, Ipswich,5 who will I know kindly send a few, if not now, yet before they will be wanted.

Ever Yours | A. Gray


The year is established by the reference to the visit to Down House (see n. 2, below).
Gray and his wife, Jane Loring, arrived in England in early September. They visited Down with Joseph Dalton Hooker and his family, beginning 24 October 1868 (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 5 September 1868 and n. 12).
The reference is to ‘Climbing plants’.
William Thompson owned a nursery in Ipswich.


‘Climbing plants’: On the movements and habits of climbing plants. By Charles Darwin. [Read 2 February 1865.] Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1867): 1–118.


Wants seeds of Passiflora gracilis.

Letter details

Letter no.
Asa Gray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 165: 170
Physical description
ALS 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6931,” accessed on 16 August 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16