skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Victor Masson   [after 29 September 1869]1



I am much obliged for your letter of 29th last.—2 As I had spent two months in correcting the 5th Edition of my Origin I was very much annoyed that the labour shd not have been taken advantage of in the new French Edition.— And I must take the liberty of saying that I still think that you or Mme Royer ought to have written to me before bringing out a new Edition as has been the habit of all other Publishers:—3

But I am sorry that I wrote while I still felt rather angry & offer to you my apologies, which I hope that you will accept.—4 Your offer to print some appended pages is very obliging, but though I have made more additions, some of extended length I do not think that it wd be worthwhile to you any more on this, for I have taken struck out other discussions of similar length; the correction which I care most about, are mere [1 word illeg], depending on how far the evidence has come [or] demands on other factors

[Yours very sincerely]


The date is established by the relationship between this letter and the letter from Victor Masson, 29 September 1869.
CD refers to Clémence Auguste Royer. See letter from Victor Masson, 29 September 1869 and nn. 2 and 3.
CD’s letter to Masson has not been found.


Is annoyed that a new French edition of Origin [1870] has been prepared without making use of the corrections CD made in the 5th English edition [1869].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Masson, Victor et fils
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 96: 61
Physical description
Adraft 2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6916,” accessed on 2 August 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17