skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Louis Agassiz   6 July 1869

Museum of Comparative Zoology, | at Harvard College, | Cambridge, Mass.,

7th. 6th. 1869

My dear Sir,

It gives me great pleasure to introduce to you my only son Alexander Ag⁠⟨⁠as⁠⟩⁠siz,1 the more so as I beleive you will find him more tractable than myself upon questions which you are especially interested about.2

Ever truly yours | Ls Agassiz

Ch. Darwin Esqr.

CD annotations

End of letter: ‘115 Jermyn St | S.W.’3 pencil


Alexander Agassiz travelled to Britain in September 1869 (G. R. Agassiz ed. 1913, p. 97).
For Alexander Agassiz’s views on Darwinism, see Winsor 1991, pp. 148–63.
Asa and Jane Loring Gray stayed at 115 Jermyn Street (a private hotel) when they arrived in London (see letter from Asa Gray, 23 August 1869; Post Office London directory 1869); Alexander Agassiz may have stayed there too.


Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.

Winsor, Mary Pickard. 1991. Reading the shape of nature. Comparative zoology at the Agassiz museum. Chicago and London: University of Chicago Press.


Introduces his son Alexander; believes CD will find him "more tractable" on certain questions than LA himself is.

Letter details

Letter no.
Jean Louis Rodolphe (Louis) Agassiz
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Museum of Comparative Zoology, Harvard
Source of text
DAR 159: 10
Physical description
ALS 1p †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6817,” accessed on 12 August 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 17