skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Frederic Higgins?1   18 September 1868

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Sep 18 1868

Dear Sir

I am very much obliged for your kind & handsome gift of game, which has arrived safely & has proved very acceptable.

Pray give my kind remembrances to your father2 who I hope keeps pretty well.

I should like very much to visit Alford & Beesby3 again, but I fear I shall never have spare time & strength

With our best thanks pray believe me dear Sir | yours very faithfully | Ch. Darwin


The recipient is conjectured on the basis of CD’s correspondence with John Higgins of Alford, Lincolnshire (see Correspondence vols. 3–8, 12). John Higgins was CD’s land agent for his property in Lincolnshire. Frederic Higgins and his brother, also John Higgins, carried on their father’s business as land agents (Post Office Directory of Lincolnshire 1892). The younger John could also have been the recipient of this letter. No recent letter from either of the Higgins sons has been found.
John Higgins (1795/6–1872).
CD had property in Beesby, Lincolnshire; the Higgins family resided in nearby Alford (see Correspondence vol. 3, letter from John Higgins, 15 March 1845).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Thanks correspondent for gift of game and sends remembrances to his father [John Higgins]. Would like to visit Alford and Beesby, but fears he will have neither time nor strength.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Frederic Higgins
Sent from
Source of text
Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/17/8)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 6378,” accessed on 16 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16