skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From W. S. Dallas   28 February 1868

York Museum

28 Feb. 1868.

My dear Sir

Very many thanks for your kind present of your second edition,—1 it is a charming book & I shall always see it with pleasure.—

I am glad you are satisfied with the Translation from Piderit,— I endeavoured to make it as literal as possible, & have introduced variations or second readings here & there, especially when I had occasion to depart a little from the very words of the original—2

I will bring Müller’s book to town with me when I come up, which I hope to do next Wednesday.—3 I intend staying in town for 3 weeks,— should you have occasion to write, letters sent to Taylor & Francis will always find me.—4

I should not, however, commence translating Müller while in town, as my hands will be particularly full, & there is no hurry, if the author is to be communicated with.—

The Index is so voluminous a portion of your second vol. that the wonder is that only one reviewer should have taken notice of it,—but it was to my mind still more surprising that Mr. Murray did not object to its extent.—5 If you & he are satisfied it is enough for me.—

Believe me | My dear Sir | Your’s very truly | W. S. Dallas.

Chas Darwin Esq

CD annotations

3.3 letters … Francis] ‘Red Lion Court. Fleet St—’ added pencil
End of letter: ‘Taylor & Francis | Red Lion Ct | Fleet St’ added pencil


Dallas’s name appears on the presentation list for the second printing of Variation (see Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix IV).
Dallas had translated sections of Piderit 1867 (see letters from W. S. Dallas, 22 February 1868 and n. 1, and 24 February 1868).
Dallas had agreed to translate F. Müller 1864 (see letter from W. S. Dallas, 24 February 1868 and n. 4). CD was in London from 3 March to 1 April (see ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 16, Appendix II)).
The firm of Taylor and Francis published Annals and Magazine of Natural History, of which Dallas was an editor.
Dallas had prepared the index for Variation. CD had complained to his publisher, John Murray, about the delays caused by the preparation of the index (see letter to John Murray, 9 January [1868]). The Gardeners’ Chronicle, 21 February 1868, p. 181, noted that the book had been ‘indexed with scrupulous care’.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Piderit, Theodor. 1867. Wissenschaftliches System der Mimik und Physiognomik. Detmold: Klingenberg’sche Buchhandlung.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Thanks CD for second issue of Variation.

Is glad CD is satisfied with his translation of Piderit.

Will not start on Müller [Für Darwin] until CD has communicated with the author.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Sweetland Dallas
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
York Museum
Source of text
DAR 162: 17
Physical description
4pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5955,” accessed on 20 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 16