skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To W. H. Flower   [1871?]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

My dear Mr Flower

I am ashamed to say that I do not know the rules for admission to your museum.2

My son, the bearer of this, is now attending to anatomy & wishes much to inspect some of the preparations; will you therefore be so kind as to turn him loose, if permitted into the Museum.

Pray believe me | yours sincerely | Ch. Darwin

Footnotes

The year is conjectured on the assumption that the son mentioned in the letter is Francis, who studied to become a physician at St George’s Hospital, London, after leaving Cambridge at the end of 1870 (F. Darwin 1920, p. 67; The Times, 19 December 1870, p. 6).
Flower was conservator of the Hunterian Museum of the Royal College of Surgeons (ODNB).

Bibliography

ODNB: Oxford dictionary of national biography: from the earliest times to the year 2000. (Revised edition.) Edited by H. C. G. Matthew and Brian Harrison. 60 vols. and index. Oxford: Oxford University Press. 2004.

Summary

Does not know rules for admission to museum [of the Royal College of Surgeons]. CD’s son [Francis] wishes much to inspect some of the preparations.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-5767
From
Charles Robert Darwin
To
William Henry Flower
Sent from
Down
Source of text
B. J. Harrison (private collection); sold by Bonhams (dealers), 15 July 2004
Physical description
2pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5767,” accessed on 25 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-5767.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 19

letter