skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From J. J. Moulinié   11 October 1867

Secrétariat | Général | Institut National | Genevois | Genève,

le 11 October 1867

Dear Sir,

I just receive your last parcel forwarded the 5th October last, and including the—four sheets T, U, X, Y, (273–336); and following the former containing two sheets, Q, R (225–256). I have in-consequence to beg of your kindness to send me the intermediate missing sheet S. (257–272), which I have not received.1

I am happy to inform you, Sir, that in a few days, the six first chapters of the French translation will be completely printed,—for I have just sent back to the editor the fourteenth sheet with the last corrections.2

I remain Sir yours’ truly | J. J. Moulinié


Moulinié refers to proof-sheets of Variation, which he was translating into French.
The reference is to Charles-Ferdinand Reinwald, who published the French translation of Variation (Moulinié trans. 1868).


Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Has received more Variation sheets; some are missing. In a few days the first six chapters of the French translation will be printed.

Letter details

Letter no.
Jean Jacques Moulinié
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Institut National Genevois, Geneva
Source of text
DAR 171: 268
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5646,” accessed on 16 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15