skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [23 June 1867]1

6 Queen Anne St


My dear Hooker

We have been very much disappointed at not seeing you & Mrs Hooker here. I suppose you got Henrietta’s note saying that any day would have suited us.2

I have had so much to do that I have found it impossible to come to Kew.3 Remember you are doubly pledged to come to Down some time soon. We are off home tomorrow morning early & have much enjoyed our London week—

Yours affectately | Ch. Darwin


The date is established by the endorsement and by the reference to the Darwins’ visit to London (see n. 2, below). The only Sunday during their visit was 23 June.
Henrietta Emma Darwin’s letter has not been found. The Darwins were in London from 17 to 24 June 1866 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 15, Appendix II)), and had hoped to meet Hooker and his wife, Frances Harriet Hooker (see also letter from J. D. Hooker, 18 June 1867).
CD had hoped to visit the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew (see letter to J. D. Hooker, [16 June 1867]).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Disappointed at not seeing JDH in London.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
London, Queen Anne St, 6
Source of text
DAR 94: 28
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5574,” accessed on 19 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15