skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To [?]   22 [March? 1867]1

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

Friday 22d

Dear Sir

I am greatly obliged for your most kind offer, which, however, I will decline, as I am a good deal out of health, & as I have passed in a work which is now printing the part about Dogs.2

You are, also, probably not aware that this place is six miles of hilly road from Bromley.3

With my very sincere thanks for your kind offer, I remain | Dear Sir | Yours faithfully & obliged | Charles Darwin


The recipient has not been identified. The month is conjectured, and the year is established, by the printing of Variation having begun before March 1867, and the fact that the discussion of dogs appeared in the first chapter (see n. 2, below). In 1867, the 22nd fell on a Friday in February, March, and November.
CD received the first proof-sheets of Variation on 1 March 1867 (CD’s ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 15, Appendix II)); by 26 March he had had proofs of 180 pages (see letter to V. O. Kovalevsky, 26 March [1867]), which would have included the section on dogs (Variation 1: 15–43).
The closest railway station to CD’s home was in Bromley.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


CD must decline his correspondent’s kind offer [unspecified], but he is out of health and has passed the part about dogs in a work now at the printer’s [Variation].

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
Fitzwilliam Museum, Cambridge
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5453,” accessed on 4 August 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15