skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From George Henslow   [c. August 1867?]1

Adderly Rectory2 | Market Drayton | Salop

My dear Sir

I beg to thank you very much for your very interesting papers. I fortunately possess all the Vols of Gard: Chron: so I shall be able to refer to the papers at any time.3

I am very anxious to see your book: & indeed, ordered it some months back, thinking it was out; as I met with an advertt. of it.4 I hope also to read the new Edn. of the “Origin of Species”5 when I get back to town.

Very faithfully yours | Geo Henslow

C. Darwin Esq


The date is conjectured from the address and the narrow mourning border, which also appear on the letter from George Henslow, 15 August 1867.
The incumbent of Adderley Rectory from 1863 was Athelstan Corbet; he and Henslow had been contemporaries at Cambridge University.
CD published numerous notes and queries in the Gardeners’ Chronicle from 1841 onwards (see Calendar, pp. 583–4).
Henslow probably refers to Variation: Variation had been advertised as early as 1865 (Reader, 15 April 1865, p. 427).
Henslow probably refers to the fourth edition of Origin, which was published in November 1866 (Publishers’ Circular).


Calendar: A calendar of the correspondence of Charles Darwin, 1821–1882. With supplement. 2d edition. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1994.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Thanks CD for his interesting papers.

Letter details

Letter no.
George Henslow
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Market Drayton
Source of text
DAR 166: 148
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5336,” accessed on 22 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 15