skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Frederick Currey   5 July 1866

3, New Square, Lincolns Inn. W.C.

July 5th. 1866

My dear Sir,

Herr Müllers paper on climbing plants is about to be printed in our Journal with such illustrations as may be necessary—1 I understand from the enclosed letter which was written by you to Mr. Kippist2 that you only consider the 3 figures marked with the blue cross necessary, (viz. No. 7, one half of No. 2, & a third not numbered) & that we may therefore strike out of the M.S. the references to the other figures—

My immediate object in writing however is to ask whether in your opinion there would be any objection to reducing the size of the figures— The Council have authorized three octavo plates, but if the three figures only are necessary, & may be reduced in size, it appears to me that one plate, or two at the outside, might be sufficient—3 In case you should like to refer to the M.S. I send it (with the drawings & your letter) by Bookpost & if you will kindly let me know what you think I shall be very much obliged—

Believe me | my dear Sir | Your’s very truly | Fredk Currey

Chas Darwin Esqr.

CD annotations

End of letter: ‘Proportion given on plate | Proofs | I have struck out each [interl] reference & given’ pencil


Fritz Müller’s paper, ‘Notes on some of the climbing plants near Desterro, in southern Brazil’, appeared in the Journal of the Linnean Society (Botany) 9 (1866): 344–9 (F. Müller 1865b). The text had been edited by CD from parts of three letters sent by Müller in 1865 (see Correspondence vol. 13, letter from Fritz Müller, [12 and 31 August, and 10 October 1865]).
CD’s letter to Richard Kippist has not been found.
One plate, containing three figures, accompanied the paper (F. Müller 1865b, tab. 9); it is reproduced in Correspondence vol. 13, p. 217.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Fritz Müller’s paper ["Notes on climbing plants"] is about to appear [in J. Linn. Soc. Lond. (Bot.) 9 (1867): 344–9]. Would CD approve of figures being reduced in size?

Letter details

Letter no.
Frederick Currey; Secretary, Linnean Society
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Lincoln’s Inn
Source of text
DAR 161: 307
Physical description
3pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 5146,” accessed on 19 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 14