skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   30 May [1864]

Down. | Bromley. | Kent. S.E.

May 30

My dear Hooker

I send two characters just recd from Scott,1 which I hope you will think sufficiently satisfactory to act on. He will get testimonials from clergymen & gentm from the neighbourhood in which he lives2  

I have told him I will give him money for outfit, voyage & enough to keep him some weeks in India.3 Do you intend to give Scott letters to take out with him or will you write to the three gentlemen you mentioned?4

I shd think it wd be best for him to have a note to take to Dr Anderson,5 but you will know much the best what to do.

I really believe that you are aiding a worthy man & I am sure for my own part I cordially thank you.

Please return the enclosed letters & tell me what you decide to do, for I think Scott will start soon; for he seems heartily glad of this opening & I am sure will always feel grateful to you—

Ever yours | C Darwin


John Scott enclosed with his letter of 28 May [1864] testimonials from his previous supervisors, John Hutton Balfour and James McNab. The note from Balfour is included in this volume as an enclosure to Scott’s letter, but the note from McNab has not been found. In his letter of 19 May 1864, Hooker had offered to write to several people he knew in India as a means of introducing Scott.
Scott was then living in Denholm, Scotland (see letter from John Scott, 28 May [1864]).
CD refers to Thomas Anderson, superintendent of the Calcutta botanic garden (see letter from J. D. Hooker, 19 May 1864 and n. 2).


Forwards two character references for John Scott, for position JDH is arranging in India.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 234
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4515,” accessed on 20 January 2022,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 12