skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   16 [November 1863]



My dear H.

My Father had some small vases, black & brown, given him by Jos. Wedgwood, & which my Father valued much.1 I, of course, do not know whether they are really good; but I have begged one from my sister Susan2 & she will send it in about a week’s time to Kew.3— I shall be so pleased, if it turns out good; but that must be a mere chance.—

Ever my dear H. | C. D.

I have now been six days with no vomiting!!! & my head feels more solid.—

I see you have been at alpine W. African Plants4


CD refers to Robert Waring Darwin, and to either Josiah Wedgwood I, master-potter and founder of Wedgwood & Sons, or his son, Josiah Wedgwood II.
Susan Elizabeth Darwin lived at The Mount, Shrewsbury, the family home.
Hooker, assistant director at the Royal Botanic Gardens, Kew, was an avid collector of Wedgwood ware (see letter from J. D. Hooker, [1 or 3 November 1863] and nn. 18 and 19).
CD probably refers to the report of J. D. Hooker 1863b in the Gardeners’ Chronicle, 14 November 1863, pp. 1085–6, which was read to the Linnean Society on 5 November 1863. CD’s annotated copies of the Gardeners’ Chronicle are in the Cory Library, Cambridge Botanic Garden.


CD has a Wedgwood vase of his father’s for JDH.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 115: 210
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4342,” accessed on 22 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11