skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Richard Trevor Clarke   [April? 1863]1

Dear Mr Darwin

Enclosed are blossoms of the individual hautbois which I have used as female parent in my experiments.2 The anthers are certainly only rudimentary. I may mention it is very possible that the microscope may shew some grains 〈of〉 pollen, other blossoms on the same spike and perhaps th〈ese〉 having been fertilized by myself.—

I am glad you received the plants safe.3 I propose in future when any little curious fact turns up to send you a short memorandum, knowing that working men dont like too much correspondence

Very truly yours | R Trevor Clarke 〈〈6〉3 Eaton Square | for 10 days4


The conjectured date is the earliest possible for the flowering of strawberries subsequent to the letters from R. T. Clarke, [after 25 November 1862] and [after 27 November 1862] (Correspondence vol. 10). See n. 2, below.
Clarke described his experiments with strawberry crosses in his letter to CD of [after 25 November 1862] (Correspondence vol. 10). See also Variation 1: 352.
Clarke had sent strawberry plants to CD in November 1862 (see Correspondence vol. 10, letter from R. T. Clarke, [after 27 November 1862]). CD’s reply has not been found.
A fellow army officer of Clarke’s, Major-general Alexander Murray Tulloch, lived at 63 Eaton Square, London (Post Office London directory 1863).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.

Variation: The variation of animals and plants under domestication. By Charles Darwin. 2 vols. London: John Murray. 1868.


Encloses strawberry blossoms used in his crossing experiments.

Letter details

Letter no.
Richard Trevor Clarke
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Eaton Square
Source of text
DAR 161: 164
Physical description
2pp damaged

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 4070,” accessed on 18 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11