skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Frederick Smith   11 February 1863

Brit Museum

11 Feby. 1863.—

My Dear Sir

Up to this time the work referred to has not been found—1 Mr. Watts however wishes me to leave the matter in his hands until tomorrow Morng. when he hopes at least to be able to say where the work is to be got at2

Yours very Truly | Fredk Smith

Chas. Darwin Esre.


CD visited the British Museum while he was in London between 4 and 14 February (see letter from S. P. Woodward, 14 February 1863, letter to H. B. Dobell, 16 February [1863], and ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 11, Appendix II)). Smith, an entomologist, was assistant keeper of zoology in the department of natural history at the British Museum (Post Office London directory 1861).
Thomas Watts was assistant keeper at the British Museum’s department of printed books (Post Office London directory 1861). The work CD wished to consult has not been identified.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Post Office London directory: Post-Office annual directory. … A list of the principal merchants, traders of eminence, &c. in the cities of London and Westminster, the borough of Southwark, and parts adjacent … general and special information relating to the Post Office. Post Office London directory. London: His Majesty’s Postmaster-General [and others]. 1802–1967.


Has been unable to find a book [unspecified] wanted by CD.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frederick Smith
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
British Museum
Source of text
DAR 177: 196
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3978,” accessed on 16 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 11