skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From A. R. Wallace   [after 20 August 1862]1

⁠⟨⁠half a page excised⁠⟩⁠

I have only the 1st. Edition of the “Origin”— I suppose the one you kindly sent to Singapore must have reached after I left & they did not think it worth while to return it.2 I should be much pleased to have the 3rd. Edn.3

I have never considered the Ostriches to have any real connection with Mammals,4 & should imagine ⁠⟨⁠half a page excised⁠⟩⁠ difficult ⁠⟨⁠3 words excised⁠⟩⁠ of anomalous semiaquatic animals which should easily admit of modification into these three forms.—

I find myself very delicate & dread the winter, as I have been suffering here from inflamation of the pleura, & bad cough through a little exposure to night air.

I remain | My dear Mr Darwin | Yours very faithfully | Alfred R. Wallace

C. Darwin Esq.

CD annotations

2.2 difficult … air. 3.2] ‘Malacca | ova cells | domesticated Bees’ added in margin, ink

Footnotes

Dated by the relationship to the letter to A. R. Wallace, 20 August [1862]. See also n. 3, below.
Wallace had returned to Britain in the spring of 1862, having been on a collecting expedition in the Malay Archipelago since 1854 (Wallace 1905). His name appears on CD’s list of presentation copies for Origin (see Correspondence vol. 8, Appendix III).
Wallace acknowledged receipt of a copy of the third edition of Origin in his letter to CD of 30 September 1862.

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Origin: On the origin of species by means of natural selection, or the preservation of favoured races in the struggle for life. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1859.

Wallace, Alfred Russel. 1905. My life: a record of events and opinions. 2 vols. London: Chapman & Hall.

Summary

Would be pleased to have third edition of Origin.

Is unwell and dreads the winter.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3694
From
Alfred Russel Wallace
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
unstated
Source of text
DAR 181
Physical description
2pp inc †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3694,” accessed on 21 October 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/?docId=letters/DCP-LETT-3694.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10

letter