skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From D. F. Nevill   [16? May 1862]1

29 Upper Grosvenor St.

Friday

Oh my dear Sir

How can I thank you enough for your great kindness in sending me your book which I only received this day from Dangstein—2 What I value even more is the writing at the beginning which renders it doubly valuable in my eyes   Pray always remember what a real pleasure it is to me to hear from you and I shall be grateful—if I can ever at any time do anything for you

ever Ys most truly | Dorothy

Footnotes

The date is conjectured from the distribution date of the presentation copies of Orchids (see n. 2, below); the following Friday fell on 16 May 1862.
Orchids was published on 15 May 1862 (Freeman 1977, p. 112). Nevill, who had supplied CD with orchid specimens from her estate, Dangstein, in Sussex, is included on CD’s presentation list for Orchids (see Correspondence vol. 10, Appendix IV). The publisher, John Murray, appears to have sent the presentation copies by post on 13 May 1862 (see, for example, letter from Daniel Oliver, 14 May 1862).

Bibliography

Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Freeman, Richard Broke. 1977. The works of Charles Darwin: an annotated bibliographical handlist. 2d edition. Folkestone, Kent: William Dawson & Sons. Hamden, Conn.: Archon Books, Shoe String Press.

Orchids: On the various contrivances by which British and foreign orchids are fertilised by insects, and on the good effects of intercrossing. By Charles Darwin. London: John Murray. 1862.

Summary

Thanks CD for his book [Orchids].

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-3552
From
Dorothy Fanny Nevill
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
London, Upper Grosvenor St, 29
Source of text
DAR 172.1: 25
Physical description
3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3552,” accessed on 23 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-3552.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 10

letter