skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From William Owen Sr   5 October [1836]

My Dear Charles,

I cannot express the Pleasure your kind Note received a few hours ago has given me, & I most Sincerely congratulate you as well as all your Family upon your safe return, after so long an absence, to your dear home. I am sure your Father & indeed all your Family must have been quite overcome with delight, & I hope, nay I am certain they will suffer me to participate in it—but words are foolish things & as often used to flatter or deceive as to express the honest Feelings of our hearts, which I will therefore not attempt—but the long & the short, as they say in this Country, is that I must see you as soon as possible, & if I was not unfortunately engaged to meet a Man here tomorrow by appointment I should certainly be with you at breakfast— Unfortunately I have the same engagement on Friday— Perhaps you could come here on Saturday & if you can & will give us your Company as long as you can afford I will not say how happy it will make me as well as the Mrs. but pray bring your Gun with you, for I have not forgot the amusement we used to have together, & I am anxious to see whether you are improved by your travels or whether I am again to be your Instructor.

We expect some Friends here on Monday to stay a few days & hope you will be able to make one of the Party, & if any of your Sisters will come with you we shall be still more pleased— I know it is in vain to ask your Father.— But you talk of riding over— If you mean for a call & one night only I will not have you—& therefore if you cannot make it convenient to come & stay a few days, give me a line by return of Post & I will try to come over on Saturday Morning just to shake you by the hand & to satisfy myself that it is the same Charles Darwin I formerly knew & valued so much.— I am no flatterer but in truth & Sincerity I do assure you that I feel the same so⁠⟨⁠rt⁠⟩⁠ of Pleasure & Joy in your return that I think I should do to see one of my poor Boys again from India—of whom by the bye we have just received very good accounts— | Yours most Sincerely | Wm. Owen *S 2


Wedy. Night— | Octr. 5th.


Welcomes CD home; urges him to come to Woodhouse.

Letter details

Letter no.
William Owen
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Shrewsbury OC 7 1836
Source of text
DAR 204: 138
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 309,” accessed on 6 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1