skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Andrew Murray   3 March 1861

Royal Horticultural Society, | South Kensington, W.

3 March 1861

My dear Sir

Your letter of the 23d has followed me from Edinb. to London,1 where I have come to reside—having been appointed Acting Secretary to this Society—Dr. Lindley assuming the Honorary duties2

I shall have great pleasure in noticing the paper by Dr. Gray & procuring my remarks to be inserted in the Edinb. Phil: Journal if my friend Balfour shall not have previously done it himself—3 So far from demurring to it I feel myself highly honoured that you should ask me—and am greatly obliged by your promising me a copy of your New Edition—

I had not heard of the Anophthalmus Reymondi being found in the cellars of a deserted Monastery near Toulon—4 You know its natural habitat is a grotto near Toulon—& it is only what one might expect that on a dark night it might wander out— Indeed that is one of the things that always puzzled me why these blind insects were never found out of the Caverns—

The Anillus Cœcus is perhaps even a more interesting case—first found under some large stones which lay at the bottom of a great heap of manure or decaying thatch wh. had lain untouched for years near Bourdeaux.— Unfortunately for the marvellous of the story it has since been found in other dark places—altho very rarely—

Yours sincerely | Andw. Murray

Is the copy of Dr. Grays paper for myself—or to be returned—5

CD annotations

1.1 Your … Edition— 2.5] crossed ink


John Lindley had been an officer of the Royal Horticultural Society since 1822. He served as assistant secretary from 1827 to 1858, when he was appointed honorary secretary and member of council. He gave up these offices to take charge of the colonial department of the International Exhibition of 1862. (DNB.)
John Hutton Balfour, professor of botany at Edinburgh University, was one of the editors of the Edinburgh New Philosophical Journal. CD had already sent him a copy of A. Gray 1861a (see letter to Asa Gray, 12 March [1861] and Correspondence vol. 9, Appendix III).
See letter to Andrew Murray, 23 February [1861], and letter from W. D. Crotch, 25 January 1861.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

DNB: Dictionary of national biography. Edited by Leslie Stephen and Sidney Lee. 63 vols. and 2 supplements (6 vols.). London: Smith, Elder & Co. 1885–1912. Dictionary of national biography 1912–90. Edited by H. W. C. Davis et al. 9 vols. London: Oxford University Press. 1927–96.


Will be pleased to review Asa Gray’s pamphlet [see 3068].

Is not surprised that blind cave insects are sometimes found in other dark places.

Letter details

Letter no.
Andrew Dickson (Andrew) Murray
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
R. Hortic. Soc.
Source of text
DAR 47: 154–5
Physical description
4pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 3077,” accessed on 18 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 9