skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To George Rolleston   6 June [1860]1

Down Bromley Kent

June 6th

Dear Sir

I thank you sincerely for your very kind note & offer of assistance.2 My plans may be unfortunately altered, for my daughter has a low fever, & unless every shade of anxiety is removed by her almost entire recovery, I should not like to leave home.—

If it would not be selfish, I think the plan which would cause least trouble would be for you, if not asking too great a favour, to reserve me rooms in a near college; & then if I am prevented coming I will promise to write 2 or 3 days before the meeting, so that the rooms would be at your disposal for some one else.—3

Believe me with many thanks for all your kindness & most obliging invitation | Dear Sir | Yours truly obliged | 〈C. Darwin〉4


Dated by the relationship to the letter to George Rolleston, 1 June [1860].
Rolleston’s letter has not been found. CD had written to inquire about lodgings in Oxford during the forthcoming British Association meeting (letter to George Rolleston, 1 June [1860]).
CD was unable to attend the meeting. See letter to Charles Lyell, 25 [June 1860].
The signature has been excised from the letter.


CD’s plans are uncertain because of his daughter’s [Henrietta Darwin] fever.

If GR would kindly reserve rooms for CD near college, CD will write before the meeting [of British Association at Oxford] if he is prevented from coming.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
George Rolleston
Sent from
Source of text
Wellcome Collection (MS.6119/)
Physical description
AL [signature excised] 3pp

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2822A,” accessed on 22 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 8