skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Henry Coe   12 October 1858

Asylum— Knowle | Nr. Fareham. Hants—

12th. Octr. 1858.

Sir,

Yours of the 8\th. came to hand in due course—1 I hope that you will not consider yourself under any obligation for the specimens—for I assure you they were forwarded with pleasure

The Dwarfs were a few of the 1857 produce, and were of a plain dark colour, not any thing like this year’s produce—2

My reasons for supposing them to be crossed with the Runners are— The colour—and their being planted in the Vicinity of those Beans.

In reference to the Haricot the true colour is pure white, but the few planted by me were selected from 1857 Produce (Haricots) on account of their being slightly tinged (the colour of the two in pod)

It does not belong to either of the twelve lots of the Negro.

Allow me to add that during some few years experience, I have never before met with anything like the specimen of Beans I have now obtained—

I feel greatly interested and am somewhat anxious to gain the benefit of the experience of others, an Article at your convenience will therefore greatly oblige3

Sir, | Your humble servant | Henry Coe C. Darwin, Esqr. | &c. &c. &c

Footnotes

CD’s letter has not been found. It was a reply to the letter from Henry Coe, 6 October 1858.
See letters from Henry Coe, 18 September 1858 and 6 October 1858.
See letter to Gardeners’ Chronicle, [before 13 November 1858].

Summary

Answers CD’s queries about seed lot he has just sent.

Letter details

Letter no.
DCP-LETT-2340
From
Henry Coe
To
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Knowle Asylum, Hampshire
Source of text
DAR 161: 196
Physical description
4pp †

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2340,” accessed on 24 September 2021, https://www.darwinproject.ac.uk/letter/DCP-LETT-2340.xml

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7

letter