skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Fanny Myddelton Biddulph   [c. 21 October 1833]

[Chirk Castle]

My dear Charles,

Catherine writes to tell me she is going to send a packet to you— I cannot therefore lose the opportunity of adding my little scrawl— I do flatter myself you have not quite forgotten me altho’ I am become a steady stupid old matron, the pleasant times we have passed together in the good old times of the Housemaid & Postillion at the Forest, I shall not easily forget, & steady & dull as I am I assure you I still look forward to some pleasant times again with you when you are cured of your roving turn, and settle quietly with the little Wife in the little Parsonage!! News I have little to tell you, innumerable letters you will receive with this from more able Pen’s than mine— I have been laid up for the last 5 months, one illness after another, has pulled me down very much— Your good Father I think has now nearly set me up, for I am much better this last month & hope soon to be quite off the Invalid list which does not suit me at all— My little Daughter (how odd it sounds) is 6 months old, & a nice little creature she is— How I should like to see you here my dear Charles, I long for you to return, & I hope this next year will certainly bring you back— I have seen none of your letters, & know little or nothing of your proceedings. they tell me now & then where you are but I never can collect any particulars of your adventures— Susan has paid me two visits here & we were very merry, but now my Mother & Sister in Law have taken up their quarters for the Winter & as they are rather of a serious or kill joy turn of mind, they put a stop a little to our merrymakings— I like this place very much, & it is a delightful distance from the old Forest. I often pay it a morning visit— Emma is now a young Lady on her promotion, Matty Cotton is also turn’d loose a blazing meteor — Clare Leighton, now Miss Leighton much the same as when you left her, I think there is little new or amusing in Shropshire— Francis has just got an Ensigncy in the 63rd. Regiment which is on its way to Madras but I believe he will go to the Depot in Ireland for the first year or two, & as the Regt. has not long to remain abroad he will only have a short time of India— Arthur is doing very well there—

How prosy I am my dear Charles I am really ashamed of sending such a dull little effusion feel more than half inclined to throw it into the fire—but my hope that you will take the will for the deed when you read it encourages me to let it go— I shall be very glad to hear from you but do not expect it I know you have enough to do without writing to me

Adieu my dear Charles. Believe me always | Yours most | affectly. | F. Myddelton Biddulph


Shropshire news of relatives and friends.

Letter details

Letter no.
Frances (Fanny) Mostyn Owen/Frances (Fanny) Myddelton Biddulph
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Chirk Castle
Source of text
DAR 204: 56
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 221,” accessed on 19 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1