skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. D. Hooker   [17 February 1858]1



My dear Hooker.—

I have been meditating much on what you said on big genera &c &c. It is of real importance to me to have a little more talk with you. If trains suit, would you be at Thatched House at 14 past 5?2 Five minutes would suffice. I wd not have asked this, had not the subject been of much interest to me. Had facts or apparent facts gone the other way, I had resolved to say that no one result was so hostile to me, & now as facts appear to go generally as I expected they would, I want very much to perceive clearly all causes of error.—

Ever yours | C. D.

I was quite knocked up last night.—3

I shall be at Thatched H. at 514 for chance of your appearance.


The date is based on CD’s visit to London from 16 to 20 February 1858 (letter to W. E. Darwin, 11[February 1858]).
The Thatched House Tavern, St James’s, London, was the meeting place of the Philosophical Club of the Royal Society. CD attended the meeting on 18 February 1858 (Philosophical Club minutes, Royal Society).
CD travelled to London from Down on Tuesday, 16 February.


General success of survey makes CD very concerned about sources of error. Wants to meet JDH for an important talk about big genera. Arranges meeting.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Joseph Dalton Hooker
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 114: 222
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 2209,” accessed on 5 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 7