skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

From Caroline Darwin   13 January 1833


Jany. 13th 1833

My dear Charles,

You must forgive my sending you a very dull letter but I have been used rather unfairly— it is Catherines month & she did not tell me this moment that she has not even begun a letter to you & today being the last day I will not fail in my promise of writing myself when the others forget— My Father is very well, which I know is the main thing so it will not matter how little else I have to tell. I remember the anxious feeling I had even during my 3 months in France last year & it is impossible to shake it off when at a distance & for any reason not in good spirits. Your last letter which I answered the middle of December was the one to Susan just before you were to sail from Monte Video. I do hope my very dear Charles the cold & rains whilst coasting Patagonia have not made you ill— we are all impatient for your next letter, & if you find all these changes of Climate do not agree with your health come home & think of your snug parsonage— I finished my last letter at Overton. Parky & Henry feel proud in finding the place on the Map where their Uncle Charles is— Parky is growing very manly coming on nicely in his Latin & the most regular flirt I ever beheld. the week after I came home we had a visit from our new member Uncle Jos.1 he seems very much pleased to have been returned with such a fine Majority & he says he has been at no expence & no trouble doing nothing but what his Committee ordered him & they were very merciful he even escaped being chaired—2 he says he can not afford to bring his family with him to London but I think they expect to go at least for some months— Parliament meets the 31st. of Jany—so he will soon have to leave Maer I hope the experiment will answer to him & that he will not repent— Jessie came with Uncle Jos & they staid two days.— it happened most unfortunately that we all three were going the very evening they arrived (unexpectedly) to Eaton to see a Play acted by the Family party of Williams’s, Owens & Whites— poor Sarah herself did not act— The Owen constitution has quite failed & she is in a very delicate state of health. She looks very unwell & is out of spirits about herself thinking she shall never get strong & well again & can bear no exertion or fatigue

The piece they acted was The Irish Tutor a merry little bustling farce3 & they all played their parts very well— there was afterwards a dance— All the rest of this month has passed perfectly quietly We play at Whist every evening with Papa & I think he seems quite as happy & comfortable as he used to be some years ago— Last week was the New Hunt week. We had nobody with us but the 2 Clives of Styche & Caroline Owen.— Mr. Edward Williams died the beginning of the week so there was no party at Eaton— Mr. Tom Pemberton4 is also dead. that y〈ou〉 may know what is going on in this neighbourhood, there have been no marriages except Sir T. Boughy to Miss Louisa Giffard—5 the Hunt ball I did not go to— Mrs. Biddulph was there looking very handsome but I suspect she must find Mr. Biddulph a tiresome person to live with— I am sure he is very selfish he has gained his election & is returned for Denbighshire. Your Pincher & Nina are both very well, I am about buying from Joseph your Grey horse I have tried him & I like him very much as far as I can judge—

Erasmus has been very gay at Parties at Lady Giffords & the Hensleighs &tc. he has not written very lately. Mrs. Hensleigh is to be confined the beginning of next month so I suppose he can not be junkitting at her house now— Susan & Cath are going to two balls next week & I suppose these balls are Cattys excuse for not having written

they & Papa send their love to you and believe me my dear old fellow, with my own best love to you | Yrs affecly Caroline Darwin

It is too late to wish you a happy new year—but I do wish it—


Josiah Wedgwood II sat for Stoke-on-Trent, Staffordshire, which, as a result of the Reform Bill, had become a borough returning two members (Hanham 1972, p. 296).
It was common practice in election celebrations to carry the victor about in a chair.
The Irish tutor; or, New lights: a comic piece in one act, by Richard Butler, Earl of Glengall, first performed in 1822.
Possibly the Mr Pemberton mentioned by CD in the Autobiography, p. 39.
Sir Thomas Fletcher Fenton Boughey married Louisa Paulina Charlotte Giffard on 27 December 1832.


Autobiography: The autobiography of Charles Darwin 1809–1882. With original omissions restored. Edited with appendix and notes by Nora Barlow. London: Collins. 1958.

Hanham 1972. See Dod 1972.


Family news. Uncle Jos [Josiah Wedgwood II] has been returned to Parliament with a fine majority.

Letter details

Letter no.
Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Darwin/Caroline Sarah (Caroline) Wedgwood
Charles Robert Darwin
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 204: 74
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 195,” accessed on 19 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 1