skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To J. S. Henslow   26 March [1855]

Down Farnborough Kent

March 26th

My dear Henslow

I found on my return home the Anacharis,1 put by my wife in water & all flourishing for which very many thanks, & for which, as you are not a man to be offended, I send the 14 pennies, as by doing so I feel an honester man, & you will be by 14 pennies a richer man, & therefore according to Sydney Smith’s high morality by exactly that much, a happier man,2 & according to City authorities, a better man. I saw Mr Gosse the other night & he told me that he had now the same several sea-animals & algæ living & breeding for 13 months in the same artificially made sea water!3 Does not this tempt you? it almost tempts me to set up a marine vivarium.—

Remember in due time the second Edit of your Hitcham Flora,4 &, shd. you ever stumble on it, the fact on wild-geese.—5

I saw when in London Archdeacon Clive,6 & he most particularly enquired about you & expressed a very strong wish to see you.—

My dear Henslow | Your affectionate old Pupil | C. D


‘I have been very poor the greatest part of my life, and have borne it as well, I believe, as most people, but I can safely say that I have been happier every guinea I have gained.’ (S. Holland 1855, 1: 223). CD had recently read Saba Holland’s memoir of her father Sydney Smith (S. Holland 1855) (Correspondence vol. 4, Appendix IV, 128: 11).
CD first met Philip Henry Gosse at the Linnean Society meeting of 2 March 1855 (E. Gosse 1890, p. 256).
Henslow 1855a.
Possibly a reference to CD’s note dated ‘Feb 55/’ (DAR 205.2: 114) which reads, in part: ‘Henslow has case of Black Barley taken out of goose craw flying from N. in Canada’.
William Clive, archdeacon of Montgomery, was an old friend of the Darwin family. He had been an exact contemporary of Henslow at St John’s College, Cambridge, 1813–18.


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Gosse, Edmund. 1890. The life of Philip Henry Gosse F.R.S. London.

Holland, Saba. 1855. A memoir of the Reverend Sydney Smith … With a selection from his letters, edited by Mrs. Austin. 2 vols. London: Longman, Brown, Green, and Longmans.


Thanks JSH for Anacharis which is flourishing.

P. H. Gosse told him he had several sea animals and algae living in artificial sea-water for over 13 months.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Stevens Henslow
Sent from
Source of text
DAR 93: A26–A27
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1655,” accessed on 1 December 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5