skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To Edwin Lankester, Ray Society   [7 August 1851]

7. Park Stt.— | Grosvenor Sqe.—


My dear Sir

We return home on Saturday next;1 it would therefore be a very great convenience to me, if in your power, to permit my servant to take my M.S. to Adlard on Saturday morning, between 9 & 10 oclock.— My reason for wishing my own servant to take the M.S. is that I have not a copy of a page, & I would on no account reundergo the labour I have spent on it, & therefore am very unwilling to trust it to the tender mercies of a public conveyance. If I do not hear from you, I shall understand that my servant may call for it.—

I hope you have much enjoyed the brilliant festivities at Paris.2

Yours very sincerely | C. Darwin

P.S | I may mention as a proof to you, that I send my M.S. fit for the Printers, that Mr Bowerbank retained that for the Pal: Socy: for less than an hour, & the corrections were not heavy.—


According to CD’s ‘Journal’ (Correspondence vol. 5, Appendix I) and Emma Darwin’s diary, CD did not return to Down until Sunday, 10 August 1851.
The president of the French Republic, Louis Napoleon, invited the jurors of the Great Exhibition to Paris during the first week in August. For an account of some of the festivities, see R. S. Owen 1894, 1: 367–9. Lankester was a juror and the reporter of the section on ‘Manufactures from animal and vegetable substances, not being woven, felted, or included in other sections’ (Exhibition of the works of industry of all nations, 1851. Reports by the juries (London, 1852), pp. 590–602).


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.

Owen, Richard Startin. 1894. The life of Richard Owen … With the scientific portions revised by C. Davies Sherborn; also an essay on Owen’s position in anatomical science by the Right Hon. T. H. Huxley, F.R.S. 2 vols. London: John Murray.


CD returns home Saturday and would like his servant to take his MS [of Living Cirripedia] to Adlard that morning; he does not have a copy and would on no account re-undergo the labour he has spent on it.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
Edwin Lankester; Ray Society
Sent from
London, Park St, 7
Source of text
American Philosophical Society (Mss.B.D25.)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1448,” accessed on 23 September 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5