skip to content

Darwin Correspondence Project

To John Higgins   7 June 1851

Down Farnborough | Kent

June 7th. 1851

My dear Sir

I beg to thank you for your note & acknowledge the sum of £184’s 9 . d 5, placed to my account at Mrss. Robarts, Curtis & Co.

I sincerely hope with you that farming affairs will improve: I should be extremely sorry to be at all hard upon Mr. Hardy,1 but from all I hear, fifteen per cent seems to be a large reduction, & I trust such may not long continue to be necessary.— I am much obliged for your kind enquiries about my health, which is somewhat improved. You will be sorry to hear that Miss Darwin2 has been much out of health of late.

Dear Sir | Yours very faithfully | C. Darwin J. Higgins Esqe


Francis Hardy, the tenant of CD’s Beesby farm, near Claythorpe and Alford in Lincolnshire. For Hardy’s earlier complaints following the repeal of the Corn Laws, see Correspondence vol. 4, letters to John Higgins, 9 May [1850] and 13 December [1850].
Susan Darwin, who also owned property in Lincolnshire near the Beesby farm and for whom Higgins acted as an agent. See Correspondence vol. 3, letter to Susan Darwin, [15 March – 2 April 1845].


Correspondence: The correspondence of Charles Darwin. Edited by Frederick Burkhardt et al. 27 vols to date. Cambridge: Cambridge University Press. 1985–.


Mentions his account. Reduction in rent paid by Mr Hardy.

Letter details

Letter no.
Charles Robert Darwin
John Higgins
Sent from
Source of text
Lincolnshire Archives (HIG/4/2/1/45)
Physical description

Please cite as

Darwin Correspondence Project, “Letter no. 1432,” accessed on 16 October 2021,

Also published in The Correspondence of Charles Darwin, vol. 5